Setting up my 5.1 soundbar system.

Z

ZJones1994

Audiophyte
Hello,
I just purchased the Visio VIZIO S4251w-B4 soundbar set up and it will arrive on monday and was
hoping to get some help on the best way to hook it up for true 5.1 sound. I have a 55' Samsung UN55H6203 Smart tv . I know all the different ways I can connect it I just don't know which is the best way. My entertainment set up is the tv, a comcast hd/dvr box, xbox one and xbox 360. From the TV I have a gaming headset connected to it through the SPDIF connection on the
transmitter for the headset (it's a turtle beach XP510). The transmitter for the headset has SPDIF in and out. I was hoping to use a SPIDIF to connect the transmitter to the soundbar but I wanted to make sure it would be true 5.1 not just upscaled. I also was curious on how to set my tv up to send the audio out as 5.1 instead of standard dual channel.
I'm new to all of this and have done research but I figured it was time to ask for help from people more knowledgeable then myself. Any
support is appreciated thank you.

Topken

Topken

Junior Audioholic
After taking a look at the manual for that Samsung it does not clearly state anything about 5.1 or what formats are useable just says this under Audio Format "Selects the Digital Audio output (SPDIF) format. The available Digital Audio output (SPDIF) formats may vary depending on the input source." Since not many Samsungs if any even output 5.1 for connected devices I don't really know what to tell you.

Ontop of that is was stated only in the manual "Digital audio is only available with 5.1-channel broadcasts." I assume its talking about the built in Turner only in this case. Guess all you can really do is take a look at the MENU>Sound>Additional Settings>Audio format and see if something like Dolby Digital is listed.

Z

ZJones1994

Audiophyte