Satellite Speaker Crossover Settings

M

MRG88

Audiophyte
I have a satellite 6.1 speaker set i neep help with. The center speaker has 4 3-5/8" woofers with a 7/8" tweeter. The fronts and surrounds have 2 3-5/8" woofers with a 7/8" tweeter as well. All speakers have a response of 80Hz-20kHz. I am using a 12" sub that has a response of 30Hz to 200Hz. My settings on my receiver are all speakers set to small. The crossover frequency for all my speakers are set at 80 Hz and the LFE high cut filter is set at 100 Hz for my subwoofer. Does this sound right? I can change the crossover for each individual speaker from 40-120 Hz. I am a newbie and would appreciate any suggestions on trying out something different with these settings to get the most out of my HT system.

Last edited:
MidnightSensi

MidnightSensi

Audioholic Samurai
You can try a few different options, but a good starting place is to set the crossovers to 80Hz. Then disengage the subwoofer crossover (there may be a switch on it, or you just turn the high cut all the way up). The reason is that if you have a crossover set on your receiver, then you don't want to have it active on your subwoofer. The two will interfere.

Your correct to have you speakers set to small.

Alex2507

Alex2507

Audioholic Slumlord
That does sound right. On the sub you should be using the LFE input that disables it's crossover. Your rec'r is already taking care of that for you. You might mention which sub, speakers and rec'r you are using. If anything with speakers that are rated at 80Hz you might try a higher crossover since speaker manufacturers tend to be a little optimistic about their speaker's abilities.

Welcome to the forum. :)

M

MRG88

Audiophyte