RS-232 Port on Yamaha Receivers

Discussion in 'Amps, Pre-Pros & Receivers' started by NetGeek, Mar 15, 2005.

  1. NetGeek Junior Audioholic

    NetGeek
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston Tx.
    Has anyone ever used the RS-232 Serial port on the back of many Yamaha Receivers? I imagine this port allows you to setup the receiver with a laptop & without hooking up the receiver to a TV. Is it easier to navigate the menus this way?

    Did you run Terminal Server to connect? If so what were the connection parameters (N, even parity, 1 stop bit, etc.).
  2. Cygnus Senior Audioholic

    Cygnus
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    31
    I beleive that port is for hooking up to a compter monitor, so you dont have to use a TV.
  3. jimmit Junior Audioholic

    jimmit
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gonzales, LA
    Right now I don't have a receiver with an RS-232 port, so I'm certainly no expert. But, my understanding is that the two main reasons for these ports are: 1) to connect to a computer so that you can download updated firmware for the receiver, e.g., changes by the manufacturer that will improve the sound/operation or correct some glitch, and 2) to connect to a whole-house automation system, e.g., Crestron systems, etc. I'm sure there are other reasons for an RS-232 port; perhaps others can chime in.
  4. BMXTRIX Audioholic Spartan

    BMXTRIX
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,268
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Wow, that was a total guess in the dark Cygnus ;)

    The 232 port on the 1500, 2500, z1, z9, etc. (as well as almost every other high end commercial/consumer product) allows external control exactly as you surmised.

    Standard Yamaha protocols are available on their website under downloads, but I don't believe they have the setup utility program available on their site. The setup program does allow setup, but I'm not sure that it really is any easier than their OSD and using YPAO. The plus is that you (or more accurately: a dealer) can use the program to copy your room settings onto a computer and store them. So, should the product ever get out of whack do to you totally being clueless as to how to use it, the dealer can just go back in and restore the system settings to what they were after it was properly set up.

    More often this port is used for control of the receiver by control systems like Crestron & AMX. Full 2-way control (like what current FM station you are on, what the volume level is, what the current input and surround mode is, etc.) are available through this port. You want the main receiver on and turned to the DVD input? Just a few quick programming commands and you better believe the receiver will be exactly where it is supposed to be.

    The GENERAL RS-232 codes for all the commands and the feedback responses are available at www.yamaha.com in the customer support section I believe. Just a PDF or Excel file with a complete listing.

    Very few manufacturers ever give software/firmware updates through RS-232, but if they were to release a software/firmware upgrade, this port would be the way to load it up.

    Hyper Terminal could be used to test the codes, but really, Yamaha has a stand alone program that deals with your Com port automatically... But, if you were interested - Yamaha products use a straight through serial cable with 9600, 8, N, 1 as the settings. No RTS/CTS is necessary.
  5. NetGeek Junior Audioholic

    NetGeek
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston Tx.
    Thanks for the reply all

    And thank you BMXTRX for the in-depth explain, that answers my question.
  6. trevorgray Audioholic Intern

    trevorgray
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    A while back before I purchased my 2500, I was surfing on the Yamaha web site doing my research. I found a downloads section, and for the life of me I can't find it now, and on it was a program called Yamaha Receiver Editor. I downloaded a copy of it but have not had a chance to figure anything out about it. It does say that it is for the 2400 but would venture a guess that it is good for the 2500 as well. Would this be used in conjunction with the rs-232 port?
  7. BMXTRIX Audioholic Spartan

    BMXTRIX
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,268
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Yes - that's the software I was talking about exactly. Worked with the 1400, 2400, z1... Not sure if they still have it anywhere. I don't see it on their site.
  8. Tiv Audiophyte

    Tiv
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire, England
    Yamaha Authorised Dealer Website

    All of the various flavours of software are available here at the Yamaha's Authorised Dealers Website. (RXV2300, RXV2400, RXZ1, RXZ9 and more)

    http://www.yamaha.com/yec/dealers/dealer_main.htm

    There is also uselful info on RS232 protocols and IR codes for those buffs out there.

    It does not refer to a specific version of the software for the RXV2500 :( - though you could try the 2400 version with it (wouldn't expect codes to differ but you may not be able to access the extra features)

    Hope this is of help, first post here!!!! :eek:
    Tiv,
  9. Nomo Audioholic Samurai

    Nomo
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,833
    Likes Received:
    870
    Location:
    Wisconsin, Oshkosh, Wearin' the Fox Hat :)
    Tiv,
    Helluva first post. You found this how? I've looking for that for a long time. Awesome. Thanks. Yeah that'll help.
    Nomo,
  10. Tiv Audiophyte

    Tiv
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire, England
    Oh you know how it is, stumble around in the dark long enough you eventually drop onto these things, more by accident than anything :confused:

    Useful Hint ;) Have a look at the RX-Z9 'HowTo' guide - It gives a good idea how to fly the damn thing. You just have to remember to ignore the fancy extras specific to the Z9 and try not to get too annoyed that you didn't lash out the extra greens for the beast :D
    Tiv,
  11. sixdouble532one Audioholic Intern

    sixdouble532one
    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks

    Mr bmxtrix you and the others on this site have been nothing but help to me the past few days. I am helping start a home automation company that is mainly working on setting up home theaters but then branching into the home automation aspect of everything. Whenever I have a question I just pop on here and do a search. I don't know why i cant pm or email you, I probably don't have the ability as someone who just signed up or something, but If i were to ask you a few questions is that how I would do it pm or email through here?

    anyways, thanks all for all your help. I have had to learn basicaly everything about home automation in 2 and 1/2 weeks!
  12. BMXTRIX Audioholic Spartan

    BMXTRIX
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6,268
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Weird about the PM/Email thing - you can shoot me emails at bmxtrix2005 at cox dot net

Share This Page

  • RBHsound.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA