Ripping and burning audition CD?

KEW

KEW

Audioholic Overlord
I am a complete novice at this (burned a few discs about 4-5 years ago, but not enough to reemember details).
I am compiling a CD for speaker auditions and, on playback the CD player stops playing midway through the second song and you can hear the mechanism "beating its head against the wall over and over:p" as it tries to continue. During this time, the counter increments in 2 seconds intervals (while it takes about 10 secs for each increment), but no sound.
I am using a Dell E6420 laptop with CDRW
Ripped as WAV so assume that is burn format.
Used WPL format, not M3U (default).
Used "fastest" for burn speed (default).

I put the cd back in the laptop and the list of tracks is correct, but it does the same thing - plays the first two songs, but everything past that appears corrupt.

I remember there were blank "CDs for music", but I think these were for use in CD recorder decks, right?

Ideas for troubleshooting?

Last edited:
Alex2507

Alex2507

Audioholic Slumlord
Set it to slowest for burn speed. That's Adam advice. My advice would be to install Vista.

rojo

rojo

Audioholic Samurai
ImgBurn. I agree with Alex's Adam advice of using the slowest burning speed. It's also been my experience that some manufacturers' blank disks work better in some CD players than others, but I couldn't tell you what sucks and what works great. I tend to buy my blank media on Black Friday and stock up for the year, getting whatever brand happens to come in a spindle of 100 for ten bucks. Sometimes it's Maxell or Imation, but more often it's store brand / cheap generic.

Last edited:
KEW

KEW

Audioholic Overlord
I loaded Vista and now my laptop crashes before I can even open Windows Media Player.:(

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
When you assembled that disc, did you just assemble the Wavs as a data file or compile a proper Red Book CD.