RGB 6 or Cat 5 ethernet to send a/v 250 ft.

T

teacher607

Audiophyte
I am an English teacher turned video teacher. We are trying to set up a digital signage system and need to run audio and video feed approximately 250 feet from the tv studio to the cafeteria. I have two different vendors who suggest different cables. I am trying to discern which is the best way to go and what the pros and cons to each are.
One vendor suggests running Cat 5 ethernet and the other suggests RGB 6 cable. My understanding of the differences is that cat 5 will send files, not constant streaming video and so there should be no loss and it is cheaper than RGB6. RGB 6 will supposedly give me twice the resolution as cat 5. I am running 3 42in plasmas at the other end and most of my video will be mpeg 2 from Scala or straight video feed.
Do I need RGB 6? Are there drawbacks to cat 5? Do you know anyone who might be an expert in this area?

Thanks. It's tough to trust a salesman when you're not an expert in the field. :confused: :confused:

JohnA

JohnA

Audioholic Chief
teacher607 said:
I am an English teacher turned video teacher. We are trying to set up a digital signage system and need to run audio and video feed approximately 250 feet from the tv studio to the cafeteria. I have two different vendors who suggest different cables. I am trying to discern which is the best way to go and what the pros and cons to each are.
One vendor suggests running Cat 5 ethernet and the other suggests RGB 6 cable. My understanding of the differences is that cat 5 will send files, not constant streaming video and so there should be no loss and it is cheaper than RGB6. RGB 6 will supposedly give me twice the resolution as cat 5. I am running 3 42in plasmas at the other end and most of my video will be mpeg 2 from Scala or straight video feed.
Do I need RGB 6? Are there drawbacks to cat 5? Do you know anyone who might be an expert in this area?