Recommendations? Budget 5.1 Speakers For Stereo Listening

S

Suntower

Enthusiast
Hi,

Total noob question...

I'm a musician with a quite decent 2.1 studio.

In my home, I have a typically crappy 5.1 'home theatre'---which is -fine- for watching most movies. It -can- play CDs, but the sound ain't pretty.

I have a separate 'stereo' from the 70's (Ohm speakers anyone) which I use to play 'records'. And it sounds -fine- for my needs.

I'd like to combine the two, but most budget 'AV Receivers' or all-in-one systems seem to only accommodate one speaker system---which is 5.1.

SO:
1. Are there budget 'all-in-one' 5.1 systems which have a second stereo speaker output?

2. Or are there 5.1 speaker systems which have front speakers which are suitable for -decent- stereo playback?

Maybe this seems odd, but I have -very- different audio needs for watching, say, 'The Matrix', vs. listening to classical music. Most budget =receivers= I've looked at are fine for my needs, but the speakers at the low end are just not made for stereo.

Suggestions?

TIA!

---JC

zieglj01

zieglj01

Audioholic Spartan
Generally the receiver 5.1 systems have a button on the remote, that will
allow you to select stereo - and the audio will come out of the front L/R
speakers - no seperate hook up is needed. What 5.1 system do you have
now?
Do you have a buget in mind for some type of upgrade? You can also get
a receiver with a zone 2 option, and use that for a seperate stereo music
station - also there are some speakers out there, that are good for both
music and movies.

Last edited:
AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
1. Are there budget 'all-in-one' 5.1 systems which have a second stereo speaker output?

2. Or are there 5.1 speaker systems which have front speakers which are suitable for -decent- stereo playback?