Recommendation for a music amplifier (low-end)?

S

shnjb

Audioholic Intern
I just purchased stereo speakers: "Pioneer SP-BS22-LR Andrew Jones Designed Bookshelf".

I'm quite new to audio setups.
My foray into this world was my recent HT setup purchases, with the Klipsch reference 5.1 speaker set (not the real high-end reference set though) which cost about 1000 dollars for the 5.1.

Having learned that home theater speakers are not suitable for music, I just purchased a pioneer SP-BS22-LR after reading some good reviews about them on various websites.

Now I need a reasonably priced amplifier to go with them.

Ideally I would like to be able to connect airplay although i could achieve that with apple airport express to the amp.

Any recommendations?

Because i'm such a newb, I don't even know how much money i need to spend although i read that pioneer a20s are good.

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
Lets start with audio terminology first since you seem to be confused with it:

amplifier - only amplifies the signal and nothing else
Pre-Amplifier - does NOT amplifies the signal, but controls the volume and analog switching inputs
Integrated amplifier (like Pio A-20's) - contains both pieces above

Receiver - just like IA above contains Amps and pre-amps, but in addition it has DACs, other digital audio processing, and a video switching and processing

The thing with using ether airplay or airport express is these use a digital audio signal - which if noticed only possible in the realm of Receivers

AJ's BS22 are very good value speakers, but they don't have much bass and you'd want to pair a sub with them anyhow which is better handled by receiver again:

This one would work nicely:
DENON AVR-E300 5.1 3D Networking Receiver AirPlay | Accessories4less

P

PENG

Audioholic Slumlord
I just purchased stereo speakers: "Pioneer SP-BS22-LR Andrew Jones Designed Bookshelf".

I'm quite new to audio setups.