Reciver/Amp/ recomendation for Klipsch RF82

B

brockrak

Audiophyte
Hello all i am a newbie to the board and it seems as thou you guys are on point with this stuff. I'm kinda a newbie to the audio game. I am purchasing a new set of RF82 from Klipsch. I need to know do i need just a receiver, or do i need a amp as well. I want these speakers to be supplied with what they need and sound the best they can i don't want them to no be supplied with enough power. My father has the RF30s? i think which are now discontinued. He has a Adcom 555 amp but for a grand i just cant afford that. Basically do i need a receiver and amp or just a receiver, and any recommendations are appreciated. Thanks again guys. Also i will be powering just these to speakers for music purposes no intention for home theater.

Send Margaritas

Send Margaritas

Audioholic
A receiver would be fine as a start. Later on, you may want that amp "just because" or to take the load off of the receiver.

You may want a receiver with Audessy or YPAO, some feel Klipsh are a bit "bright" and fatiguing to listen to for an extended period.

Klipsch are pretty efficient, as a rule.

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome to the forum!

Those RF-82 speakers have a listed sensitivity of 98dB @ 2.83V / 1m. That's pretty darn high, and what it means is that it won't take a whole lot of power to play them loud. They are also listed as being 8 ohm compatible for their impedance, so you won't need a receiver that is 4-ohm rated.

How loud do you typically listen to music, and how close do you plan to be to your speakers? Are these for parties, or just for a smaller group of people?

B

brockrak

Audiophyte
ill just be using them for myself only pretty much. a average size family room. Manly country and classic rock music. but i like it real loud and real clear. not a huge bass lover just clean crisp sound

B

brockrak

Audiophyte