Receiver vs. preamp/amp combo

M

mrpotto

Enthusiast
Hi there,
I'm an audiofile noob looking to upgrade my sound system to go with newly purchased B & W 703s. The system will be used for both music listening and as part of a home theater. Would I better off with something like a Rotel RC1070 (preamp) and a RB1080 (200wpc amplifier) vs. a decent integrated receiver?
Looking to spend around $1,000. Let me know if you need more info to provide a better answer.

Thanks, Chris

Seth=L

Seth=L

Audioholic Overlord
Outlaw 1070 receiver, it's $799 direct from Outlaw.com

It is rated at 65 watts x7 rms 20hz-20khz all channels driven. This means it will pack a punch. Unlike receivers that are rated like this- 100 watts x 7 20hz-20khz. This usually means that it can only deliver that much power to one channel at a time, maybe two channels. A receiver with this spec will be less powerful than the Outlaw.

Z

zumbo

Audioholic Spartan
Seth=L said:
Outlaw 1070 receiver, it's $799 direct from Outlaw.com

It is rated at 65 watts x7 rms 20hz-20khz all channels driven. This means it will pack a punch. Unlike receivers that are rated like this- 100 watts x 7 20hz-20khz. This usually means that it can only deliver that much power to one channel at a time, maybe two channels. A receiver with this spec will be less powerful than the Outlaw.
BS. Both mean the same thing. The Outlaw will deliver 65W x 2. The other will deliver 100W x 2(Denon,Yamaha,NAD,& etc.). Every channel extra will split the power.

Outlaw claims "the 1070 is more powerful than most so-called 100-watt receivers!" Most is the key word. It doesn't say all.

If it is more powerful than other receivers rated @100W, they should rate it above 100W. The best thing to do, is not buy "most" receivers rated @100W x7.

Last edited:
Z

zumbo

Audioholic Spartan
mrpotto said:
Hi there,