Receiver recommendation for Klipsch RF-82 II

D

dirtyswap

Audiophyte
Hi all,
Newbie here (well I have owned several HTIABs) over the last 20 years. This is my first time buying high-end equipment. I've been reading posts for several days looking for answers but decided to post and see if some seasoned readers could offer some suggestions.

I just purchased 2 RF-82's yesterday from an online store that had a 35% sale (not sure if I am allowed to mention retailers on this forum), and I bought the RC-62 center channel as well.

Now I need a receiver, and am willing to spend between $500-1000 on a good 7.2 receiver. My media room is about 20x20, and will soon pick up a good sub (looking at HSU, SVS, PA, and BIC currently) and surrounds (Klipsch most likely)

I have seen a few Marantz's that are interesting, as well as a few Denons. My only real need is for 3 optical ports (PS3, Xbox, Cable) and 7.2, since eventually I will want 2 subs and 7 channels. I would like a Zone 2 offering but it is not a requirement

I am trying to stay from Onkyo, Pioneer, etc since I've had them in the past and not sure how decent they are if our favorite brick and mortar store sells them. I like Marantz's design but not sure exactly which one to get. They have one for $1500 (SR7005) but probably don't need the features that one offers. I don't need HDMI passthrough since I prefer to hook up the devices directly to the HDTV and utilize the optical ports on the receiver for when I want surround.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I should also mention that I will primarily be using this for home theatre, not as much for music. Maybe 80% tv, 20% music.

Thanks!

Last edited:
BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
Don't let .2 force you to choose one AVR over other... simple and cheap Y splitter will fix .1 to .2 :D
Audioholics not huge fans of None-Elite Pioneer models, but Elite one are actually very good and offer good bang for buck...