Received my Onkyo RC180, questions

J

jakebake

Audioholic Intern
I received my onkyo rc180 from accessories4less yesterday. It is refurbished for 349.99. This thing looks absolutely perfect. If no one ever told me it was refurbished you would never know. The receiver I was using before this one was the one from this HTIB: http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-YHT-393BL-Channel-System-Black/dp/B003CP0KAA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1310743977&sr=8-1

I didn't think it would be THAT much of a difference when hooking this one up, but the difference was HUGE. Way clearer and more detailed.
So far I am very happy with this purchase. I feel like for this price it was a steal.

I am using different fronts than the HTIB but I am still using the center, sub, and surrounds from it :)()
I have never used Audyssey or anything like it before. When going through it it says to put the mic at listening position at ear height. How do you guys do this? I just put it on top of a box on my couch? Everything seems to work fine except it was really hard for me to get it to pick up my center channel. During the process if I didn't move the mic closer when it went to the center channel it would not pick it up. Any tips?
Also for 5.1 the surrounds need to be in SR and SL and NOT SBR and SBL?

When I went to listen to music (two fronts and sub) I thought it sounded pretty weird and sterile. Not sure if this was because Audyssey was still on?
When I hooked up my tube poweramp for the fronts music sounded much better.

All in all I am very impressed so far.

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Congrats on the new receiver! It's always nice to experience a step up.

When going through it it says to put the mic at listening position at ear height. How do you guys do this? I just put it on top of a box on my couch?