stargate69

stargate69

Audiophyte
I think I've tried everything to remove hum from my Proaudio powered subs, to no avail. Used a DI box, but WASN'T happy with the 'trade offs'. Someone told me my RCA to XLR cable needed to be 'rewired'...Is this possible/true?? How does anyone else out there go from HT set-up to Proaudio POWER for their subs, w/o going thru another 'box' ??? Would appreciate ANY thoughts/advice.... I'm no electrician, but think I know enough ( ground loops? what are THEY??? ) Thanx, B C

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
What cable do you have? Try this article. Have you tried a rca to TS connector instead?

What amp? My pro amps have rca ins so no big deal for me :).

Have you tried a cheater plug to see if the hum goes away if it is ground loop related?

highfigh

highfigh

Seriously, I have no life.
I think I've tried everything to remove hum from my Proaudio powered subs, to no avail. Used a DI box, but WASN'T happy with the 'trade offs'. Someone told me my RCA to XLR cable needed to be 'rewired'...Is this possible/true?? How does anyone else out there go from HT set-up to Proaudio POWER for their subs, w/o going thru another 'box' ??? Would appreciate ANY thoughts/advice.... I'm no electrician, but think I know enough ( ground loops? what are THEY??? ) Thanx, B C
List the equipment in your system and look at how it's powered- is it all on one circuit, is it on two or more (likely, if the sub is in another part of the room)?

If the amplifier(s) use RCA a well as XLR inputs, try the RCA without adapters. I found that a Krell preamp and power amp had a ground loop with XLR, but not with RCA- if it works, leave it.

The difference in the sound won't be enough to make using one or the other an issue that's important. The sound is the same, the input signal may not be as high and the theoretical noise level will be higher (maybe) but it shouldn't be noticeable if any audible signal is present.