Pronto universal remote

1tribeca

Audioholic
Eventually I plan to complete some sort of home theatre. With the coin I'm preparing to drop, I think it would justify purchasing a nice remote to sync everything up nicely. Everyone A/V guy I've spoken to says this is a wise and very common move.

I have some experience (seeing & touching) a Pronto remote by Philips (TSU7500 I think) Although they look very nice and the unit seems to work well, are they a good buy? I've heard there can be software issues with them. I also noticed that every single unit I've picked up seems to have a slight rattling sound to it...like there's a small piece of loose plastic inside, but it doesn't seem to affect the performance.

Suggestions? comments?

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord
I'm not sure how much that model is, but I swear by the Universal Remote Control MX850, and others will swear by other models. Having a good universal remote should be the FIRST thing many people consider.

I mean, who cares how good, or how crappy your system is if nobody on the face of the earth can figure out the 20 remotes you have to go through to make it work.

Of course, my remote is sicker than all, so we'll just ignore it. ;)

croseiv

croseiv

Audioholic Samurai
Eventually I plan to complete some sort of home theatre. With the coin I'm preparing to drop, I think it would justify purchasing a nice remote to sync everything up nicely. Everyone A/V guy I've spoken to says this is a wise and very common move.

I have some experience (seeing & touching) a Pronto remote by Philips (TSU7500 I think) Although they look very nice and the unit seems to work well, are they a good buy? I've heard there can be software issues with them. I also noticed that every single unit I've picked up seems to have a slight rattling sound to it...like there's a small piece of loose plastic inside, but it doesn't seem to affect the performance.

Suggestions? comments?