Projector Recommendation

G

giffer

Audiophyte
Looking for some advice and help on choosing the right projector for my home theatre. I have recently begun building a home theatre in my basement. The dimensions are approximately 22 feet long by 14 feet wide. I will have complete control over ambient light so that shouldn't be an issue. I am seriously leaning towards the 110" Carada Criterion Series with the Brilliant White screen.

I think that I have narrowed down the options for the projector down to the Benq PE8720 and the Yamaha DPX-1300, but I am up for other suggestions or ideas.

I am fairly new to the whole home theatre world but just reading through this site has been a huge asset and very helpful.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated and invited.

Thanks in advance,
Giffer

D

df4801

Banned
Whats your budget and intended use?

Between the two you mentioned, I would take the BenQ for sure.
Less than 1/2 the price for a likely similar great picture.

TABCON

TABCON

Audioholic
Yea, whats the old budget?

I'm in the same boat as you...still haven;t decided on a projector and it's killin me:eek:

Tabcon

G

giffer

Audiophyte
Budget wise I am looking for under $10K hopefully. While budget is obviously important, it is truly secondary to top performance.

I want to get the best projector I can, with the best possible picture. As for the viewing requirements, it will primarily be used for movies, but I am also an avid sports fan and am planning on hosting all of the major sporting events.

Again I appreciate any and all advice, and I am not necessarily tied to only these two projectors. I also have a bit of time as it is a couple of months from completion.

I will likely start a new thread in a while looking for advice on some other components to fit within the new home theatre.

Thanks again,
Giffer

TABCON

TABCON

Audioholic
Okay, we are in the same boat, but I will go to 13K if required.