Problems with new reciever

D

Darius427

Audiophyte
Hi all, I am new to this forum, but it seems very informative. I recently upgraded from a old Phillips MX3660D HTIB. The reciever was continuously shutting off after just a few minutes of play. Anyway I purchased a Samsung HW-C700B at best buy because it had everything I needed and I got it for a good price. However I have not upgraded any of my speakers yet. They are still the Phillips speakers that came with my old setup. 4 sattilites a center and a sub. I hooked everything up to the new Samsung and I am not getting very much sound out of the system. Turned all the way up, it is maybe half of what the old Phillips receiver would sound like. The speakers are 8Ohm and the reciever says it is 6Ohm so I think it should have plenty of power to push these speakers. I cant believe that the old Phillips was even close to as powerfull as this Samsung should be. I have not tweaked any settings yet, as I am no pro, but I still think that right out of the box it should have decent volume, even if it doesnt sound its best. Also, I can barely tell there is a sub hooked to the system. Hardly any vibration at peak volume. I double checked all of my wires and everything seems to be correct. I know I should upgrade my speakers, but this is for my garage and I hate to spend to much money on it all at once. The wife would not be happy. So, I guess I am wondering why a cheap HTIB makes these speakers much lounder than this much more expensive receiver. Any help would be much apprecieated. Thanks

agarwalro

agarwalro

Audioholic Ninja
When one changes anything in the HTIB set, all bets are off. That said, and looking at the Philips HTIB's manual for speaker specs and Samsung receiver's specs, there is nothing wrong with using those speakers on that receiver.

Did you already run the auto setup?The sub seems to have a phase setting, start with keeping it at 0.
Is the volume low on for all sources?

D

Darius427

Audiophyte