Problems with a Marantz 6200

Speculant

Speculant

Audioholic

The issue is, there seems to be little to no sound going to the subwoofer. The sound is very "treble-y". I'm not very experienced working with turntables, so I'm not sure where to start.

Any suggestions?

Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord
The issue is, there seems to be little to no sound going to the subwoofer. The sound is very "treble-y". I'm not very experienced working with turntables, so I'm not sure where to start.
The electrical signals from a turntable pickup cartridge are much weaker (5 mV or less) than the audio signals from CD/DVD players, TVs, or other audio sources (about 100-200 mV). These phono audio signals are also modified compared to other audio sources. The bass is significantly weakened, among other changes. Look up RIAA equalization - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia for an explanation. On playback, the signal from a turntable must be amplified and re-equalized or it will sound much like you described.

What did you plug the leads from your turntable to? If your receiver is capable of accepting the signal from a turntable, you will find a pair of RCA jacks labeled "Phono". Does your receiver have such inputs? If not, you must buy a stand-alone phono pre-amp. It will amplify to the signal and apply the standard RIAA playback equalization. With a phono preamp, you can use any unused RCA jacks.

There are many such phono preamps available, and they do not have to cost a lot. Here is a good selection.

Speculant

Speculant

Audioholic
Thank you! That completely makes sense. I was looking at the "Esoteric Sounds Rek-O-Kut Professional Phono Preamp MKII" but how do I tell if my cartridge is the moving magnet type? I know that the needle was replaced about 3 years ago, so it's not stock.

Swerd

Swerd

Audioholic Warlord