Power cord upgrade for AMP???

Discussion in 'CD/DVD/Blu-ray & Misc Hardware' started by jayswizz, Mar 2, 2006.

  1. jayswizz Junior Audioholic

    jayswizz
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everybody,
    I have read many articles about how upgrading the power cord for an amplifier will increase its performance, especially when listening to music through 2 channel. Does anyone have any expierience with this??? Is this true?
  2. j_garcia Audioholic Jedi

    j_garcia
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    25,227
    Likes Received:
    5,292
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca.
    Spend your money elsewhere :)
  3. gene Audioholics Master Chief Administrator

    gene
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7,535
    Likes Received:
    3,261
    Location:
    Florida
    NO. Use the stock power cord and replace it only if it is broken or not long enough for your application. If you replace it, make sure you use the same gauge cord or lower. Thats it!
    gene,
  4. Resident Loser Senior Audioholic

    Resident Loser
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Nueva Jork
    On a list of...

    ...a million things you can do to improve the performance of your system, changing a PC wouldn't be on it...not even close.

    When manufacturers started using PCs with IEC connectors, it was a manufacuring economy...not all countries use the same plug/outlet configuration. Sooo, instead of building utility-specific models, they simply included the proper cord for the geographic area.

    Poof!!! A cottage industry was born.

    jimHJJ(...bless it's pointy little head...)
  5. ht_addict Audioholic

    ht_addict
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which amp are you talking about? If you want too replace the stock powercord make your own, its much cheaper than buying one of those exotic ones.
  6. highfihoney Audioholic Samurai

    highfihoney
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    242
    dont even waste your time or cash on a power cord unless it needs to be replaced, ive tried a few exotic power cords in my systems & none did anything to better the sound, power cords do not have a sound of their own nor do they effect the sound from the system.

    once the exotic cable industry accuired a following most manufacturers were forced to install iec receptacle's so the cable worshipers would not fixate on the captive cord & not buy their gear.
  7. jayswizz Junior Audioholic

    jayswizz
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a B&K Ref 7250. I bought it about 6 months ago and I love it. It is my first seperate amp. I am using a Yamaha RX V-2500 as a preamp in a 5.1 setup. Speakers: Paradigm Studio 60s and CC-470 both V.3.(I did not purchase sides yet) The previous owner of the amp cut the ground prong off of the power cord and said this reduced the hum from the speakers. I do not know if this works or not, but I can put my ear to the speakers an essentially hear nothing.(extremely quiet) Is this safe? I want to move to a seperate preamp and had in mind a Sherwood Newcastle P-965 due to my budget. Is this a good move to increase the performance of HT and 2 channel stereo? This question should probably be in another section, but I'll ask here anyway. Thanks everyone.
  8. j_garcia Audioholic Jedi

    j_garcia
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    25,227
    Likes Received:
    5,292
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca.
    Are you saying you aren't pleased with the current setup? What exactly is the issue? Start with making sure the speakers are well placed and properly calibrated, correct crossover, etc... I would expect the preamp and processing section of the 2500 to be decent, but not as good as the Sherwood. Electronics don't make the biggest difference - speakers, your room and the setup of the speakers within the room are the biggest factors.
  9. gene Audioholics Master Chief Administrator

    gene
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7,535
    Likes Received:
    3,261
    Location:
    Florida
    NO!

    I can't believe consumers sometimes. You lifted the safety ground. If you build up any static electricity and touch the chassis, you can get shocked which can be fatal to a little one. Replace that cord immediately with a 3 prong one, especially if the manufacturer warrants it use for the product.

    If you are having a groundloop problem, it must be resolved elsewhere in the system.
    gene,
  10. jayswizz Junior Audioholic

    jayswizz
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did not cut it off this is how I purcased it. There is no audible hum at all, it is super quiet. Should I replace it with a B&K power cord or is there an aftermarket cord I should look into?
  11. jayswizz Junior Audioholic

    jayswizz
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am extremely pleased with the system. I did read a review online by a so called "expert" which said in a nutshell that the B&K Ref 7250 was a very good amp for the money, but of course he had an in depth analysis of it and did critique a few areas. These issues cleared up immensely when he added a higher grade power cord(cannot remember the brand). He actually found it neccessary to tell the reader this because he said it made such a noticable difference, especially in 2 channel stereo mode. This is the only reason I ask about how important it is to upgrade the power cord.
  12. gene Audioholics Master Chief Administrator

    gene
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7,535
    Likes Received:
    3,261
    Location:
    Florida
    I understand it wasn't you that did it. Find out the gauge of the cord (ie. 12 or 14 AWG) and buy an OEM replacement. Even Home Depot will do.
    gene,
  13. jayswizz Junior Audioholic

    jayswizz
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    I called B&K and they said it is a 16 AWG. I found one on audiogon that looks nice. It is 12 AWG and 5 ft. long for 60.00. The guy custom makes them and has excellent feedback from buyers. I wnt to thank you for taking the time to help me. I am assuming that the 12 AWG is actually a bit better than the stock cord at 16 AWG. Would this be accurate?
  14. jayswizz Junior Audioholic

    jayswizz
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually found a Mark Levinson 6 ft 14 AWG power cord on ebay for 20.00 with shipping included. I guess I should go this route, saves me 40.00.
  15. Wid Audioholic

    Wid
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    What about a replacement cable from B&K?
    Wid,
  16. jayswizz Junior Audioholic

    jayswizz
    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was kind of wierd, when talking to them they said it was a standard 16 AWG computer cable, but did not offer to sell me one(although I did not ask if they sold them). I just said OK and ended the call. Very helpful to me, but I guess you can say not very pushy.
  17. Rickster71 Audioholic Spartan

    Rickster71
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6,992
    Likes Received:
    4,427
    Location:
    N.J.
    The average home wiring is 14 AWG. So buying a fancy heavy gauge power cord, will only 'look' better. The few feet of new, heavy cord is negated by the forty or so feet, of
    14 AWG in you walls.
    You would get better results just by properly routing your wiring.
  18. Wid Audioholic

    Wid
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    3
    You can pick up a standard 16/3 power cord from PE for only a few $.
    Wid,
  19. msfeinstein Audiophyte

    msfeinstein
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ground loop cause?


    What actually causes this ground loop (IOW, how can I resolve it)? Is it a poorly installed circuit? Some problem within the equipment itself? Thanks.

    Edit: I did some poking around and, lo and behold, found the article Ground Loops - Eliminating System Hum and Buzz stuck to the top of the Beginners and Audiophytes forum. Sorry for not searching the obvious places :eek:
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2006

Share This Page

  • rbhsound.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • Emotiva.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA