Popping Sounds on my woofers.

P

Psyphre

Audiophyte
Hey, im making my first pair of speakers with a tweeter and 6 B&W mid/bass drivers (Each speaker: 1 Tweeter, 1 Mid, 2 Woofers). Currently I havent put them in the enclosure, they are just wired up on my living room floor. I was testing them out, tried playing some games, fantastic (the bass is great for counterstrike). Music, also great. Movies? Not so much. When playing explosions, the woofers (at the peak of the sound) make popping sounds (like when u hold a piece of card rigidly, and bend the centre so it makes that "pop"). This is only if go over (roughly) half way on the volume bar. Im not sure what the cause is since i'm quite new to all this. Im thinking maybe its because the drivers dont go very low (down to 75Hz) and maybe the explosions are below that threshold? I looked at some other woofers on the internet and saw on a couple frequencies that went to 30hz. But I dont know if this is normal, for all I know around 70 is standard, and going down to 30 are for higher end drivers?? Or maybe this is just what happens when its not in its enclosure?

If anyone can help me I'd greatly appreciate it.
Thx

K

knobturner75

Audioholic Intern
Since these are not in an enclosure, the popping noise you are hearing is something bottoming out. Either the voice coil or the cone is bottoming out and hitting the base plate for the coil or the basket for the cone. You are overdriving your speaker. I would strongly suggest not doing that anymore. ;) Also, if you are running these in this way without a crossover, you need to stop that as well. You can ruin your nice speakers. The crossover will HELP to protect your drivers from being overdriven, but I know from experience:( , they will not totally protect them. It is very important to remember that distortion is the enemy. It is easier to destroy speakers using low power driven to distortion, than doubling or even tripling their power capacity with clean power.

P

Psyphre