Onkyo HT-S5500 Speakers upgrade.

hmd666

hmd666

Enthusiast
Hello there.

I'm a newbie in all about home theater.
Recently, about 2 months ago, i bought a HT package : Onkyo HT-S5500. I'm very pleased with it and at least after almost 18 years of patience i can make myself this present.....YEAH !!!

Well i know this is not a top end system, but it's a good one and i like it.

Though as every HTiB, the speakers are not the best things that exist. I wonder if it could be reasonable to upgrade the speakers, does it worth it to put better speakers on this receiver (HT-R591) or not. And if i can upgrade, where do i have to stop : I think Focal Utopia III is too much, isn't it ? lol

Considering i watch movies, listen to music and play games on my PS3, not one really much than another, also my room is an open space (TV room, dining room, kitchen, etc...) and considering i have no idea about the budget, do you have some suggestion ?

Do not hesitate to ask me for more detail about my idea.

Thanks a lot for your help.

Olivier

zieglj01

zieglj01

Audioholic Spartan
Well i know this is not a top end system, but it's a good one and i like it.

Though as every HTiB, the speakers are not the best things that exist. I wonder if it could be reasonable to upgrade the speakers, does it worth it to put better speakers on this receiver (HT-R591) or not. And if i can upgrade, where do i have to stop : I think Focal Utopia III is too much, isn't it ? lol
Since your budget seems open >>>
This is cheaper than the Utopia - and since on closeout pricing,
it would also give you an excuse, to upgrade your receiver.
FOCAL ELECTRA 1007 S BOOKSHELF SPEAKERS (Pr) at Music Direct

hmd666

hmd666

Enthusiast
Thanks for your answer.
Actually this thread is really open, please consider every options from top to bottom, considering i have a 7.1 system to upgrade, so 8 speakers, but my budget is not infinite......... lol (Focal was just an extreme example)