Onkyo 801 for a newbie?

T

TSmith8779

Audiophyte
Wow, what a forum! I'm a newbie, and am grateful to have found this. I've got an older 5.1 mostly Sony system that I'm beginning to ready for an ongoing major overhaul. The rear surrounds no longer work on the receiver, so I'm going to start with that. The system now is in a smaller room, and I'm powering a older JBL Sat 20 surround speaker system. I also have the surrounds from a JBL Sat 1 that could be used for rear speakers in a 7.1 enviroment. It will be used mostly for movies. The upgrading is going to be a long project, and the speakers may be the next component to be switched.

One of the deciding factors in chosing the 801 is the net radio/streaming feature. I live in a valley, and receiving commercial AM/FM is almost impossisble. At this point I do not wish to pay a subscription to satellite radio. In addition to being able to listen to net radio, I do have an extensive collection of music that is only on my hard drive, and could be streamed into the 801.

It seems that most of the people on here are divided into two camps: Denon and Yamaha...with a sprinkling of Pioneer and HK. I'd like to hear from the people that know, and or have had experience with the Onkyo 801, and maybe even entertain some speaker suggestions (think small and probably under $1500). Budget is very tight.

I appreciate all the suggestions and help.

Thank you,

Tom

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome :D (yeah, like I've been here a long time :rolleyes: )

If it's network capability you're looking for, without additional hardware, the 801 is pretty much it, since the 901 costs more.

The 801 is probably way overkill for a small satellite system, but if the plan is to upgrade those eventually also, the 801 should be a great place to start.

L

LOUMFSG

Junior Audioholic
Check out BIC America's Venturi speakers

TSmith8779 said: