Noob looking to start from scratch

F

fj12003cv

Audiophyte
Hi, I'm a noob to home theatre so hoping for some advice and direction.

I have a room pretty much 13' square and is near enough a blank canvas. We have no neighbours on the external walls and only our bedroom above it. Kids in the process of leaving home, and have been wondering what to do with the room for a few years.will only be my wife and I and friends for the odd occasion. My wife and I dance so want a good music sound system as well, we want to be able to push the sofas back, roll up the carpet and boogie! However, TBH I have no idea where to start and don't have a huge budget. I like my music, wifey does too but not so bothered. We have a Pioneer stereo with turntable that's nice and a stack of vynil that we want to keep. I can buy bits as I go - doesn't all need to be at once. We have a 32" TV but are looking at a projector and have a good size wall that we can use as a screen - i believe you can get projector screen paint? The reciever is my main concern.

I work in IT and my home VMware lab runs a Plex media server which is great! I am in the process of ripping my DVDs to it, and all our digital music is on it.

So - blank canvas, need ideas and guidance. Over to the experts.... :)

S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
I would start with a two channel system. I would get an AVR and a pair of speakers. For the AVR, I would be looking at a Yamaha, Denon, or Marantz receiver in the $600 range. For speakers, there are lots of good manufacturers. To name just a few, Ascend Acoustics, SVS, Hsu Research, Philharmonic. It depends on how much you can spend after the AVR.

rojo

rojo

Audioholic Samurai