No sound from center channel in new HT hookup

S

steve3d

Audiophyte
Newbie here…please be gentle!

Denon 3313ci hooked up to Klipsch RF-82 II fronts and a Klipsch RC-62 II center. No back speakers in current configuration. Mostly listen to music…bought the RC-62 thinking the center channel would be nice when watching movies, playing vid games…stuff like that.

Here’s my problem. Denon amp config is set to MAIN…which if I understand things correctly should ‘open up’ the use of not just the fronts but also the center channel. Receiver Speaker config has both Fronts and Center ON, Subwoofer OFF. Surround set to NONE. Running Audyssey during setup the center speaker IS recognized (have sound from). After saving settings…I have no sound coming from the center speaker. Have checked speaker connections on back of Denon…RC-62 hooked into CENTER.

What am I missing in setting things up? Is it in not having an optical digital audio cable on hand to connect the TV, PS3 box and/or Bluray player to the receiver? The Denon manual isn’t real clear on whether an optical cable is needed…not knowing any more than I do…it’s just my hunch.

Any help guys? I’m pullin’ my hair out!

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Newbie? You've been around for five years. :p :D

Congrats on the nice gear. The center channel will only be used if the sound mode selected includes a center channel signal. So, some questions:

1. How do you have your gear (TV, PS3 box and/or Bluray player) connected to the receiver? Is it just left/right RCA cables?

2. What surround mode(s) have you tried?

S

steve3d

Audiophyte
Problem solved!

Adam...thanks for offering to help. Just needed to review the manual as little closer. At 182 pages...I just hadn't gone far enough in.