No Be question! Asperion or paradigm

H

happajay

Audiophyte
I'm very interested in the Asperion Verus Forte speakers. However, they are rated at 4 ohms with 88--90db. I'm no expert in this, but they seem somewhat "inefficient" speakers that could be taxing on a receiver. More importantly, my receiver may be inadequate to drive these speakers. I really like these speakers from reviews and reputation of the company. However, I can't actually listen to them since it is a direct to consumer company from oregon. My other choice are Paradigm monitor 7 (7 or 9 floorstanding). I've never heard those either but plan to road trip to an audio store to hear them this weekend. I'd really like to go with the Asperion, but I'm worried that my reciever would be too inadequate to drive them. I have an Onkyo NR709. I tried to get a pretty good receiver for what I could afford, but it may not be adequate for Asperion lower ohm <90db speakers. I want to give the Asperion a try, but the Paradigm are super efficient at 8ohms and >92db. I know room size is a big factor in all this efficiency ohm stuff. It is about 15X15 feet (medium). Any advice please?

F

FirstReflection

AV Rant Co-Host
Just a minor correction to start - it's Aperion Audio - there's no "s" in their name :) No biggie ;)