U

u2generator

Junior Audioholic
Hi,

I am new to subs and would like some advice.
My room is 18’ X 20’ with a cathedral ceiling that is 10’ tall at its peak. I have hardwood floors. My speakers are Bose 901’s and my receiver is a Pioneer VSX-D603S. I have decided I need a subwoofer and would like your opinion. I am looking at a Hsu VTF-2 MK 3 Subwoofer. I mostly listen to music but want something that will do DVD’s justice as well. I listened to a Polk PSW 12 at a local audio store the other day and if that is anything like what a subwoofer is supposed to sound like then I don’t want one. My 901s sound better than that by themselves. So, my question is, am I on the right track or is there something else out there I would be more happy with? I’m not really looking for earth shattering volume, just something to compliment my 901’s.

Thanks for you responses,

TW

A

abboudc

Audioholic Chief
You're on the right track.

Hsu, SVS, and AV123 (Onix) make some great subs. Any one of them would complement your speakers well. They all sound good, it'll probably come down to which one looks the best with your stuff :)

no. 5

no. 5

Audioholic Field Marshall
if it makes you feel better, Polk is not known for making good subwoofers.

N

Nick250

Audioholic Samurai
One thing to remember is that a sub woofer by itself sounds horrible. Second thing to remember is that the best sub out there will mostly likely sound horrible even with good speakers until it is dialed in properly for your room. Subs are very location sensative. Thirdly, your room may have acoustic properties that require bass traps (ie "room treatments") and careful placement of the sub. I own an Hsu (six years) and a Rocket sub (one year) and they are great products and I would buy the same again. SVS is in my comfort zone too.

Nick

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi