New to DIY Speakers - Looking for recommendations on where to start?

T

theblackangus

Enthusiast
Hello all!
After reading many posts talking about DIY value, I have decided to give it a try.
My initial target is to build a pair of bookshelf speakers, a matching center, and a sub.
The room is a large room (6400 qft)and if all goes well I will eventually be adding another sub and surrounds.
I would like to start with only the bookshelves and the 1st sub.
I have no woodworking experience, and I have no specific tools just a jig saw, circular saw, and power drill.

I am looking for good quality sound as these will be mostly for music listening, so for reference lets set the following goal:
  • Bookshelves should compare closely to the Serria-2's or PhilHarmonitors
  • Sub should compare with the Rythmic FV15HP version (Or better)

Kit guidelines
  • Sound quality is goal number 1.
  • I would rather buy a crossover than build one myself (I can build it, I'd just rather not =)
  • Flatpacks would be nice, but not if the sound is compromised by going that route
  • These will be painted nicely when complete but not finished with wood, so building materials can be whatever will give the best SQ with no relation to look of the material
  • Price range for the completed speakers should be as follows:
    • 800$ or less for the finished bookshelves
    • 800$ or less for the finished sub

I'm looking for suggestions around the following areas:
  • What kits should I be looking at? There are alot of them and its hard to tell what is really good.
  • What tools should I invest in? Knowing that I would like to eventually build full size speakers for my home theater, and possibly some furniture.

Thanks for the advice all!

Last edited:
fuzz092888

fuzz092888

Audioholic Warlord
What is your budget for the kit? Kit means drivers and crossover, not the box and other building/finishing materials.

fuzz092888

fuzz092888

Audioholic Warlord