new loudspeakers..help!!

B

bkmerrill

Audioholic Intern
so im new to this, obviously, and was wondering if i could get some advice!

i am looking for two new floorstanding speakers to use in a 5.1 system, as the front left/right speakers, as well as for music (50/50 music/movies)...my price range is 400-500 each (~1000/pair) and had looked at jbl L880's, polk monitor 70's (although i heard they had bad tweeters...), klipsch reference 8", and a few others...i am not a home theater or audio guru, so i dont need the best of the best, but i DO want something high quality, something durable, something versatile (for movies AND all types of music), and something that isnt gonna wimp out if i crank it up...any advice is appreciated!!

D

dronezero

Audioholic
Do you already have a center speaker? It is going to be important to match the center speaker with the two mains so that you have a seamless front soundstage for movies. Also at $1000 you might want to consider bookshelves on a stand if you have a good sub already.

Disregarding the above for the time being you should check out Axiom audio their M60 would be a good tower in your price range.

B

bkmerrill

Audioholic Intern
Well, I have a center speaker and 200w powered sub that came with my Sony 7100 system, they should do, but the sub isn't the best, and I'd still like loudspeakers with good bass capability for music...knowing this, what would yall advise?

F

fredk

Audioholic General
The M60 is a very capable speaker for music. It has a very flat frequency response and some find it dosn't have enough bass for their liking. I personally think it has enough, but thats me.

The M60 + sub would give you all the bass you need.

Fred

C

calnbs

Audioholic