Need Help with DIY Subwoofer Selection

A

Argroft

Junior Audioholic
Ok, so I'm relatively new to the whole DIY speaker building world and was looking for some input on selecting and building a subwoofer. The main uses for the sub would be about a 50/50 mix of music and for use in a 5.1 home theater system. My goal is to have a sub that doesn't take up a huge amount of space (doesn't have to be compact, but I'm not looking for something that needs more than 5-7 sq feet of internal volume). I'm looking for something that has a tighter sound but doesn't have to be sealed. I don't know enough about the parameters of drivers to make an informed decision about how to go about this. My other issue is powering this thing. I have a 5.1 receiver that has an output for a powered sub, so if you can recommend an amp, that would be awesome. I know you can get a couple style amps for this kind of thing (plate amps vs a tradition amp that sits on a shelf), but I don't know which is better than the other.

As far as budget is concerned, I don't want to break the bank with this project, but I want to spend enough to get something decent that will last a while. I don't know what a decent subwoofer driver costs, but I'm hoping to spend about $200 or less, but I can be flexible on cost if I need to. I'm hoping to start with a quality setup so I'm not spending this money again a few years down the road. I already built my front and center channel speakers and I am impressed with how they turned out. I'm working on my surrounds now and I'm trying to get the designs for the sub worked out before I'm done with them so I can jump right in, so any suggestions or information you guys are able to provide for me will be greatly appreciated!

rojo

rojo

Audioholic Samurai
For an amp, grab one of these Crown amps before they're gone. They're on closeout pricing.