need help setting up my sub with my reciever and speakers.

R

russelljw76

Audioholic Intern
I have been looking at all the online stuff on setting up a sub, and I have determined I need someone to walk my through this, my manual for my receiver does not specify some things, and my denon 1803 receiver does not have auto room correction.. do I want auto surround on? I have 2 passive audioengines up front and 2 old school bose 301 in the rear. I want to adjust the levels so that all 4 of those speakers are hitting me at the same time I don't want them receiving less power then the fronts because of surround mode. Can I run this in 2 channel mode and still use all four speakers and sub? whoever has the time to help would be great, this is my first time setting up a real system so ill be a bit of a pain in the ***.
thanks,
russell

tmurnin

tmurnin

Full Audioholic
Get one of the HD setup discs (Disney WOW, Spears & Munsi, etc.) that have a set of audio calibration test tones. You will also need a SPL meter which you can get at Radio Shack. The disc and the Denon manual should guide you through making the appropriate level adjustments on your speakers. Are you using this mostly for music or movies? If it's music, you will want to set it to Multichannel Stereo (or something similar) to ensure you have sound from all 4 speakers.

As for your question about 2-channel, by definition, "2-channel" means only the front left & right speakers, so you would not use all 4 speakers and a sub. "2.1 channel" would be your fronts + sub (and is what many people prefer when listening to music through small/bookshelf speakers unless it is a multichannel source disc like SACD/DVD-A). "5.1 channel" would be a front left/right/center + your rear speakers. It doesn't sound like you have a front center channel, so you would have a matrixed front soundstage (where dialogue would be routed through the left/right speakers in a way that blends at the center of the listening area).

R