Need Help - No Sound Coming In Thru Speakers Watching LG Wireless Internet

S

sarahwitt3

Audiophyte
Just purchased and connected an LG wireless-internet ready LV5500 TV. We have two speakers that are working for everything I connected - DirectTV programming, iPod, CD player, DVD - except no sound can be heard when we switch over to the wireless internet content. We tested Vudu, Netflix and YouTube and there is no sound coming in through the speakers.

The video does play but the audio coming in through the speakers is still playing whatever channel we had on DirectTV. The only way I can hear the audio for whatever wireless internet content is showing on the screen is if I turn my home theater speakers all the way down and turn the speakers for the LG TV all the way up.

Obviously we want the sound for the wireless internet content to be playing through our home stereo speakers. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance for your help! I am not good at this stuff!

M

MDS

Audioholic Spartan
You didn't specify exactly how DirectTV, iPod, et al are connected. Are they connected to a receiver and the receiver (for video) connected to the TV?

The issue is that the TV itself is the device that is connected to the internet and doing the streaming; therefore the audio arrives at the TV - not the receiver that has speakers connected to it. It's the same issue as when people connect their cable directly to the TV and use the TV's internal tuner instead of an external cable box that is connected to a receiver.

You just have to run the audio out from the TV to the receiver and choose the input on the receiver where the TV is connected when you are streaming content from the internet. On some TVs you have to turn the TV's internal speakers off to activate the audio outs, whether you can use optical audio out or use the analog audio outs.

S

sarahwitt3

Audiophyte