Movie Collection to HTPC

aberkowitz

aberkowitz

Audioholic Field Marshall
It's been a while since I've been very active here- small children kinda got in the way!! (Just had my second daughter 2 weeks ago)

I've been doing research on and off for the past 6 months on a variety of sites- this one, HTPC Assassin, AVS, and a variety of others. I think what I really need is some guidance. There's a bit of info overload out there (the first time I looked at HTPC Assassin I got a headache), and historically I've found Audioholics to be one of the best places to have a conversation to filter through the flotsam.

I have a collection of somewhere in excess of 300 movies (let's say about 1/3 are BD), and I'd like to eliminate the need for discs altogether... as much as I love watching my 3 year old try to take them out of the case! Movie buying has slowed down significantly over the years (partly because there's less worth buying in my opinion), but when I do buy movies or tv shows (gotta love children's television!) in the going forward I plan to skip physical media altogether.

I'm looking for a bespoke solution- I'm starting from scratch and I have nothing tying me down to any particular hardware or software. I want this to be separate from anything I currently have. Given the multitude of devices I want to use with the HTPC, I believe PLEX makes the best sense for my software solution. I have no preferences towards hardware- I've been a Mac guy for a number of years, my gaming is limited to the PS3, but I'm an open book.

(FYI- I have some tinkering ability when it comes to PC building, but it's been a number of years since I completely ripped one apart and put it back together. I'm also slightly behind on lingo, but that's easily fixed)