Mounting Samsung 55" LED LCD with single-stud mount?

Discussion in 'Televisions & Displays' started by pg_rider, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. pg_rider Audioholic

    pg_rider
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
  2. 96cobra10101 Senior Audioholic

    96cobra10101
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    158
    I've done them, they work fine. I used 3 3"x1/2" lags, no shields.
  3. GlocksRock Audioholic Spartan

    GlocksRock
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    946
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    shouldn't be a problem at all.
  4. 96cobra10101 Senior Audioholic

    96cobra10101
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    158
    I would make sure you hit the stud dead center though, use a really good stud finder, or use a drill and the tiniest drill bit you have to find the edges of the stud.
  5. pg_rider Audioholic

    pg_rider
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Well alright -- glad to hear people have done it! I will certainly drill "feeler" holes to ensure I'm dead center on the stud.

    Let me ask this -- do you guys who've done it keep the arm "extended"? I would like to have my TV the full 24" away from the wall, so the moment arm acting on the stud mount is going to be significant. Still no issues with doing that?
  6. 96cobra10101 Senior Audioholic

    96cobra10101
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    158
    Put 2 up, in corners, so the arms are extended out. Like I said, 3 bolts, no lags, center of stud. DO NOT OVER TIGHTEN!!!!!!!
  7. 96cobra10101 Senior Audioholic

    96cobra10101
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    158
    This mounts a Sanus, but the principle is a the same. Enjoy
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  8. PHANofPHUNK Full Audioholic

    PHANofPHUNK
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Madison, WI
  9. Nestor Senior Audioholic

    Nestor
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    Small Town Ontario, Canada
  10. 96cobra10101 Senior Audioholic

    96cobra10101
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    158
    The cores are what came with the TV 's. Their LG commercial grade sets. I've not noticed any difference with or without.
  11. Rickster71 Audioholic Spartan

    Rickster71
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,089
    Likes Received:
    4,466
    Location:
    N.J.
    In case anyone gives a s.....
    The core should go close to the unit, not the receptacle end.:)
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Rickster71 Audioholic Spartan

    Rickster71
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,089
    Likes Received:
    4,466
    Location:
    N.J.
    To the OP

    Why use a single stud mount, if it's not necessary or if you have load concerns?
    I'd recommend another mount that catches two studs.
    Or..finish a nice piece of wood that spans two studs and connect to that.

    *Never put lags completely through a stud.
    There are two reasons:
    1. You'd have to be 100% sure there are no pipes or wire in that section of wall.
    2. Multiple lags all the way through will weaken the stud too much.
  13. Adam Audioholic Jedi

    Adam
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    11,912
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    It's single stud. Perhaps you are looking at the two bars that are on the TV end? The wall connection is on the left side of that photo.
    Adam,
  14. pg_rider Audioholic

    pg_rider
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Ding ding ding, we have a winner! :) After thinking it through I decided to go with a "regular" (vice single-stud) mount. And on a whim I checked craigslist -- lo and behold a guy was selling a top of the line OmniMount UCL-X for $155. Talked him down to $125 and walked away with it.

    Got it mounted up -- just need to order some longer HDMI cables so I can tuck them along the mount and make the TV truly float. :)

    Thoughts? You can see that the mount is offset from the center of the TV. Plus, I couldn't hit a stud with the right-edge mounting holes so I put two lags through the adjustment track of the mount. Not the way it's supposed to work, but certainly does the job.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    From above: [​IMG]


    And here's the old setup with the basic TV stand (which didn't leave enough room for the center channel).
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 2
  15. ParadigmDawg Audioholic Overlord

    ParadigmDawg
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,128
    Likes Received:
    3,123
    Location:
    Hiding from Alex
    Looks great.

Share This Page

  • EMPTek.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA