Monitors Vs Loudspeakers

S

scribe

Enthusiast
I am an extreme newbie to sound!!

I'm not sure which I need or even what the major differences are.

I play electronic music with lots of bass.
2 turntables, new hardman kardon receiver, allen and heath mixer.

I am deciding if I should buy monitors or loudspeakers.

The sound is intented for the DJ, so the speakers will be fairly close and facing me.
This makes me think that I may not need Loudspeakers I am afraid that loudspeakers MAY be too much with a sub. Should I be looking at monitors and a sub?

thanks!

C

cbraver

Audioholic Chief
Most DJ's use active monitors, meaning they are self-powered, for near-range listening. The Behringer B300 sounds like a pretty good solution for your application. Visit behringer.com

Speakers like these are not neccessarly designed around awesome quality of sound, but rather high decibles and big bass.

If you can afford it, go with passive (not powered) 12" PA speakers with an 18" subwoofer (or two). You need powerful sound, far more then most of our home systems need to be, because they are intended for extremely high volumes and need to be durable.

I recommend the Behringer Eurolive series for non-active (you need to amp them, Behringer also makes amps, Crown is good too). EV is also popular, so is JBL.

Good luck,
-Chad

Last edited:
C

cbraver

Audioholic Chief
Also...Is this going to stay in your recording/practicing room? Or are you playing in clubs that have their own PA provided?

If you have to provide your own system at shows, you might even need to get more dramatic.

My buddy used to DJ with four 18s and eight 12s. All Behringer speakers with Crown amps. But he used to do school dances and such, so he had to provide his own gear.

The money is good though. Your gear pays for itself quick. ;)

-Chad

U

Unregistered

Thanks for replying.

This will be used at only at home.