Mitsubishi WS-55815 and Xbox

wolfsrun

wolfsrun

Enthusiast
Mitsubishi WS-55813 and Xbox

I just bought a Mitsubishi WS-55813. Halo 2 just came out for the Xbox. Obviously, the two are going to spend a lot of time together. :D How dangerous is it to play games for extended periods of time on the Mitsubishi projector? Does the fact that it is rigged for 1080i (x-box format) make a difference? Does Mitsubishi's diamond technology add anything to the equation.

This is my first projection TV, so I am a novice.

Thanks!

Last edited:
BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord
1080i is a ATSC video high definition standard. Your X-Box being set to that will help the clarity of the image and make things look, and fit better on your screen. So that is a good thing.

The cautions are that with any gaming system on either Plasma or CRT based products (yours is CRT) is that you have to deal with burn in. That is, if you leave the same image up, or if someting like the words: Player X Score: XXXXX appear on the game, in the exact same place, and you leave it there all day long then there is the possibility that it will still be there when the TV is watching something else.

I do not believe that this is nearly as big of a problem with CRT technology as it is with plasma technology, but it is definitely a possibility.

The biggest thing you want to avoid with your TV is watching a lot of 4x3 content (narrow screen) on your 16x9 (widescreen) television with black bars on the side. At the very least, make the bars on the side gray so that burn-in is reduced.

There is a ton of information online about burn-in and how to avoid it and what causes it. I believe there is also an article or two on Audioholics about it.

wolfsrun

wolfsrun

Enthusiast
Thanks!

The merchant at the screen store (small outfit, only deals in mitsubishi) told me that burn in would only occur if I left the same image paused for up to 12 hours. This seemed a little outrageous to me.

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX