Looking to upgrade my over 20 year old Stereo System. Looking for suggestions.

J

jforrest1980

Audiophyte
I have a rather large CD and Vinyl record collection and really need to upgrade my current system. I am just unhappy with about every piece in my stereo system at this time. I am looking for suggestions on a good setup that can be easily upgraded in the future to improve it. I am not looking to spend thousands of dollars on high end audio equipment, but I do want something nice that is reasonably priced and of good quality. Here is my current setup.

Technics SA-GX303 Receiver
Technics SL-B500 Turntable - Stacker.
Pioneer PD M403 CD player with 6 disc magazine.
Speakers (so bad, my brothers poked holes in them and I have been using them for over 13 years this way)

I am a bit confused about how to go about upgrading my system. I know some of the new audio equipment has different cables than I am use to, and some turntables require a separate pre-amp. So my main concern is starting the upgrade process and not being able to use my equipment. First thing first though, I seriously need new speakers. So suggestions there would be great.

Please note that I am willing to spend around $300.00 or less per piece I need. This means both speakers, the cd player, turntable, and receiver. So I am thinking a new setup in the $1200.00 range and maybe a bit more for cables and possible pre-amp.

I would also like to mention that I am not 100% sure that I need to upgrade some of these components. So if you can maybe tell me if you were in my situation if you would upgrade a specific part or not. Here are the reasons I am thinking of upgrading.