Locking HDMI Cables and Connectors

Discussion in 'A/V Interconnects, Cables & Power Conditioning' started by admin, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. admin Audioholics Robot Staff Member

    admin
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Anyone who has read any of my articles long enough here at Audioholics knows the love-hate relationship I have with HDMI. Mostly hate, since I believe HDMI should have been more focused on protocol, and less on form-factor. Regardless, one of the most frustrating aspects of HDMI is the tendency for lower gauge (thicker) cables to weight down the connector and pull out of their sockets. With the complexity of the signal coursing through an HDMI cable, even a little tension can result in signal loss, especially over longer distances. So what's a custom installer to do? Well, for starters there are several solutions that provide a locking HDMI connection for HDMI - something the format surely lacks.
    [​IMG]

    Discuss "Locking HDMI Cables and Connectors" here. Read the article.
  2. Austin M Enthusiast

    Austin M
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Another locking solution (not universal)

    One of the first locking solutions I came across was from BestDealCables.com. They sold HDMI cables with a lock that would secure to a screw-in ball-joint. You would simply remove the screw above the HDMI connection on your piece of equipment (most receivers, set-top boxes, and some transports came this way) and replace the screw with the threaded ball joint. The clip on the cable would lock in place and you were done. The back of the TV was a different matter. They recommended drilling a small hole and securing the ball-joint with some hot-glue. Not very technical, but it worked.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. j_garcia Audioholic Jedi

    j_garcia
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    25,813
    Likes Received:
    5,512
    I don't knowwhat method they are using, but the HDMI wall plates from parts express lock the cable in pretty darn well and there is nothing external that holds on. Something inside the socket feels like it is actually clicking in. Seems like this socket could very easily be put on every component.
  4. its phillip Audioholic Ninja

    its phillip
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    fort worth, tx
    Locking cables should have been the standard since the beginning.
  5. Clint DeBoer Banned

    Clint DeBoer
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    855
    Location:
    Lakeland, Florida, United States
    Absolutely.
  6. fredk Audioholic General

    fredk
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    283
    In the two years I have used them, I have never had a problem with non-locking HDMI cables.

    I'm a big fan of locking connectors though as I hate leaving connections to chance. We have some acer monitors at work that where I wish I could lock the power cable in place. Damn thing works loose all the time.
  7. jcilforever Audioholic

    jcilforever
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    12
    locking HDMI

    Found this one, just wish you could find them and were more prevelent http://www.awgcables.com/products_detail.php?pId=360&id=0002.0001.0000.0000&depth=1[/URL]
  8. mrstaff Audiophyte

    mrstaff
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i agree with philip that it should be the standard from the beggining :) i found good and not expensive cables from Connection Lab. Are they good enough?
  9. mrstaff Audiophyte

    mrstaff
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    connectionlab

    I took my chances and I bought a hdmi cable form connectionlab. I must say it is really good! You get a good price and wonderful quality. Unfortunately this brand is not widely known, but I hope this will change very soon. Check their products HERE
  10. Web Enthusiast Audiophyte

    Web Enthusiast
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    connectionlab - YES

    I've also bought connectionlab cables. I never knew the brand but they look very professional and work very well!
  11. Web Enthusiast Audiophyte

    Web Enthusiast
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    which of them have it?

    Do you know if Connectionlab cables have it? I think it's pretty tricky and I'm interested.

Share This Page

  • EMPTek.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA