J

jboogie

Junior Audioholic
I have WinISD and BoxPro, and I have spent many hours playing around with designs. The problem is I am very new to this and don't know a good design when I am looking at it. So, I am asking for your help.

Here are the specific's:

12" Kappa Perfect dVQ
300 WRMS Bash Plate amp

I would like to know if the smallish power would be adequate for a sealed enclosure, or would a ported design be better suited for this amp.

Secondly, I listen mostly to music, but love the rumble of HT, so a best of both worlds compromise is what I am looking for. Can someone please help me with a SIMPLE box design that will sound good?

* I am planning on using the sub as an end table for my sofa, and based on what I have read, it will be a front firing design. (Not a necessity, but I have read that it is better for the life of the driver if it is front firing.)

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

mike c

mike c

Audioholic Warlord
have you purchased or own the amp already? if not, there are other cheap options out there. hold tight, our resident DIY experts will help you out.

Sheep

Sheep

Audioholic Warlord
300WRMS is not enough for one of these drivers. You will need something along the lines of a Behringer EP1500 minimum for 1. EP2500 if you plan on have 2.

SheepStar

annunaki

annunaki

Actually, the Bash amplifier will work fine, however you may get some clipping induced distortion at higher volumes and/or with dynamic/transient peaks. A bigger amplifier with more headroom would be recommended, but if you already have one it will work fine within its limits.

As for the enclosure design, I would do the Mid-Q insert with an enclosure volume of approximately 3.5 cu.ft.-3.75 cu.ft. (net volume) You can tune the enclosure to around 20hz and will work unbelievably well for music or movies. You will need to design a port with about 40 sq. inches of area (which will be quite long) and that tends to be the hardest part.

Sheep

Sheep