I'm not sure I can get there from here...PC 7.1 to amp/reciever...

kiaya611

kiaya611

Enthusiast
I have been designing and buying components to build a computer for audio and video editing as well as general use. I don't have a fortune to spend, so I have tried to make judicious decisions. I wanted a machine that was fast and would handle anything I would throw at it. I am not a professional, so I am not needing that level of components, but I have had computers for 20 years now and before I became disabled, I did it for a living.

Anyway, I wanted to be able to have very good audio and UHD video. the video part was pretty straight forward, but the audio part is presenting an issue. I have both on-board 7.1 digital audio and was considering a dedicated sound card. I recently bough a Harman Kardon AVR240 and was going to use the Altec Lancing THX speakers and sub (adding 2 speakers from my 5.1 system to give me the 8 channels. Well, The amp/receiver has 7.1 built in and the computer has it as well...that would seem all good, but the issue I have is that the amp only has digital optical and digital coax in...the rest of the inputs are analog. My hope was that I would be able to have complete digital until it left the amp and went to the speakers before it changed to analog.

I know that digital optical does no have the bandwidth to handle 7.1 and now it seems to be the same with digital audio.

I guess I was hoping that someone might have a good (and not deadly expensive) idea on how to get the full bandwidth from the computer's sound card (not yet chosen) to the amp.

This is not my area of expertise, so I don't know all of the options that there might be out there. I was originally thinking that it would be a simple matter of connecting the output of the audio card tot he input of the amp and voilà I would have my 7.1 digital audio so I would have all of the formats that went with that. Apparently not so.