Ideal Projector Screen Size

JK Saabh

JK Saabh

Enthusiast
Hello,
I'm a newbie, and this is my first home improvement project. I'm planning to setup a home theater in my basement. My basement is 21ft (6.7m) long by 15ft (4.6m) wide, and has a 8ft (2.4m) ceiling. I plan to place the projector screen on the 15ft wall, and have my seating around 13ft (4m) from the screen. The rear of the room will be an office, and an area for me to display my action figures. The only constraint I must live with is that the seating has to be around 13ft.

I am not sure whether to put in a 100" or 120" screen. Putting a 120" screen would mean the center channel will only be 1.5ft off the ground. Is that too low?

What size do you recommend I use?

Cheers.

AverageJoe

AverageJoe

Full Audioholic
For what it's worth, my room size is very similar to yours, and my front row seating is just a little closer, and I went with a 120" wide screen. However, it has a 2.40:1 aspect ratio, so the screen height is only 50" and center channel placement is good. Granted, 16:9 content does not use the entire width of the screen, but wide-screen movies fill it completely and look great.

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord
120" screen, center channel placement will be fine. Angle it up slightly towards the listening audience. This is very normal, and very much the proper size.

Of course, you could build the front wall out a foot or so and put the center channel in an enclave in the wall and go with an acoustically transparent screen if you are really concerned.

JK Saabh

JK Saabh

Enthusiast
Thanks folks, I'm leaning towards the 120" as well. I may just get the projector and see the 120" image looks on my wall.

C

canelli

Audioholic
I have a room with about the same width. In determining screen size, you might want to take into consideration of the projector, throw distance, is it completely light controlled, screen gain, and seating distance.