How would I connect 5.1 surround and separate stereo speakers to the same sub?

Y

Yoss15

Enthusiast
I've been doing a lot of reading and things are starting to make more sense but I'm still very new to AV so please bear with me because I'm probably making this way more complicated than it really is.

What I'm trying to accomplish:
Running a 5.1 surround system for movies and then switching to a separate set of larger stereo speakers for music. I'd like to use the same subwoofer for both sets of speakers.

My equipment:
Receiver - Sony DA5ES
Surround - One of the Dayton theater sets from partsexpress. They're fairly small bookshelf units so a little weak for music.
Subwoofer - 10" active sub, part of the Dayton set. Connected to receiver's sub pre-out via 1 RCA cable.
Stereo speakers - I don't have these yet, but I've got a line on some nice vintage Genesis 1+ speakers. 8 ohms, same as surround.
CD Player - I've been playing them through my DVD player (digital coax out) but I've been thinking of getting a separate multi-disc unit.

Possible options that have occurred to me according to my novice understanding:

#1) Wire large speakers in with L/R fronts and use a speaker switch to manually turn off one set or the other as needed. I'd like to avoid this if I can make my existing equipment handle it. Plus I might not always feel like getting up off the couch!

#2) My receiver has outputs for 2nd and 3rd rooms. My sub has RCA inputs and high level input/outputs. The right RCA input is already connected to surround. I could run speaker wires from the 3rd room receiver outputs to the sub's high level inputs and then connect the large speakers to the high level outputs.

Here's the back of my sub and receiver for reference. Is there an easier or better way to do this? Anything I'm overlooking? Thanks!

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome to the forum!