How to connect ceiling speakers to a receiver

M

memo242

Audiophyte
Hello all, i am completely new to this and i really appreciate a detailed help. i bought a house and i am doing some renovations. i want to install ceiling speakers in the basement (5 speakers) and in family room, kitchen, master bedroom, and 2 other bed rooms. i want to be able to have volume controls for each respective area.
i have an av closet in the basement and i will be running all wires to that room to hook up to a receiver.
can you please tell me the best way to connect all the wires coming out of the cieiling speakers to the receiver. i know there won't be enough on the back of the receiver to connect all these speakers so how can i do it. also how do i connect the volume controls.
are there additional parts that i need to buy? i would really appreciate the advice on what parts you recommend i buy starting from the receiver to speakers to wire brands and guage that you recommend and how to connect all of that together or if you have a different recommendation to accomplish my goal!

Many thanks for your detailed help!

adk highlander

adk highlander

Sith Lord
Hi memo242 and welcome to the form.

Are the 5 speakers in the basement for a home theater?

As for the other zones you will need to run wire from each speaker to the volume control and then from the volume control to the amplifier.

There are some decent systems from Home theater Direct that I have heard good things about: Home Theater Direct

You could get a decent 6 zone system with keypads for around $1000.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
For the speakers in the "other" areas, you will want impedance matching volume controls. Simple Niles Audio Corporation or fancy Niles Audio Corporation