Home Stereo to Bluetooth Speaker?

M

mikeinthe901

Audiophyte
Noob here trying to do something that appears impossible. Have a user with a phono and an Onkyo receiver connected to passive bookshelf speakers. She can listen to records and life is good. Also wants to be able to take her speaker out on the patio on Sunday mornings w coffee. No can do w passive wired speakers. But hey that's what Bluetooth speakers are for, right? Nope. Apparently all the Bluetooth capability in home stereo is for sending your iPhone music to the home stereo; none of them seem to be able to output to a Bluetooth speaker. Why is that? Is there a workaround?

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai
If the Onkyo receivers has RCA outputs, such as tape out or main L/R preamp out, then you can use a Bluetooth transmitter. The Avantree Oasis seems to get good reviews. It seems most transmitters these days use AptX, so your friend’s speaker will have to be AptX equipped, too. If not, I think she may need go get another one – do your research to make sure.

If the Onkyo has no RCA outputs, your friend is out of luck and will need a new receiver that has some.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai
Foolishly forgot that a headphone jack could be used for the transmitter, too.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Last edited:
M

mikeinthe901

Audiophyte
Foolishly for got that a headphone jack could be used for the transmitter, too.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
OK now we're making progress. If we can use a stereo-to-Bluetooth adapter that supports aptX, and a speaker that supports aptX, then maybe she can still use the existing receiver.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi