Help with choosing receiver

H

harvey5560

Enthusiast
I am new to this so I am seeking help.
I am the process of finishing my basement and will be installing a home theatre. I have purchased a Pioneer Elite 50 inch plasma and will be investing in speakers and a receiver shortly. I am looking for advise on which one choose. Audio is important but not as important to me as video quality.
The receivers I am looking at are the Yamaha RX-V1700, Yamaha RX-V2700,
Pioneer Elite VSX-81TXS and the Elite VSX-82TSX.
Any help or suggestions are appreciated.
Thanks

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome, Harvey. In the same price range, I'd recommend also considering the new line of Onkyos (805, 875, maybe even the 905). Spec-wise, they should have some good video quality.

L

Leprkon

Audioholic General
Audio is important but not as important to me as video quality.

Any help or suggestions are appreciated.
Thanks
if video is key, run it directly to the display.

you can get a much better receiver that won't do hdmi than one that will for the same price.

jinjuku

jinjuku

What target are you looking to hit w/ your receiver purchase?

I also second Leprkon's suggestion. For the amount of money you are looking at spending, toss on NAD/Denon/Outlaw Audio into the mix.

Also another good question to ask is what is the ratio of money allocated to the receiver vs allocated to the speakers.

The general rule of thumb is a 30/70 split. 30% toward the receiver/electronics and the rest to speakers.

Seth=L

Seth=L

Audioholic Overlord