Hello! Newbie with a ? about S-Video cable construction

D

David Dryden

Enthusiast
Hello all! Been lurking about for several weeks and finally signed on. I am in the process of making my own S-Video cables and would like to know what the "proper" color code is for the cable. I'm using Belden 1808A cable. I know that "technically" it doesn't matter which color I use for Y and C as long as they're wired the same at both ends, but I'd like to wire them correctly to avoid any potential confusion down the road. One cable is yellow and the other is black. Is there a standard color configuration, i.e. yellow for Y and black for C? Help! I'm anxious to get them soldered up so I can enjoy them! :D

David

jaxvon

jaxvon

Audioholic Ninja
Now, I'm not an expert, but judging from Belden's description and site, it looks like they're just color coded for so you don't screw up the connection at one end. Since Belden doesn't make any differentiation, I'd say that they're identical coaxes.

mtrycrafts

mtrycrafts

Seriously, I have no life.
David Dryden said:
Hello all! Been lurking about for several weeks and finally signed on. I am in the process of making my own S-Video cables and would like to know what the "proper" color code is for the cable. I'm using Belden 1808A cable. I know that "technically" it doesn't matter which color I use for Y and C as long as they're wired the same at both ends, but I'd like to wire them correctly to avoid any potential confusion down the road. One cable is yellow and the other is black. Is there a standard color configuration, i.e. yellow for Y and black for C? Help! I'm anxious to get them soldered up so I can enjoy them! :D

David
May I ask why you are doing your own? Have you tried to solder the plug by hand with such small pins so close together? It ain't fun and you may have some resistance develop between the pins afterwards, less than infinity.

I am not aware of color standards for the pins.

D

David Dryden

Enthusiast