Headphone Recommendation For Live Performance

S

Suntower

Enthusiast
Hi,

I'm a recording musician. I've never used headphones outside of a studio environment. I need a different kind of cans than I'm used to.

I'm looking for a set of headphones or two that I can take with me for recording and live performances... sort of like DJing but these are jazz volume clubs. They need to -OK-, be portable, have good isolation (ie. the sound doesn't leak out into the club and vice versa) and not so expensive that I'll cry if they get smushed.

What I do is use them to cue up sounds and programs on a computer as I play keyboards... And sometimes I'll record other low volume groups with stereo mics and I want them to sound decent so I can check levels.

I have no idea where to begin. I see kids on AKG 518's and JVC 700's but I have no idea if that's what I need---they seem good in the sense that they have good isolation and are cheap. I have no idea on the sound quality.

Suggestions?

TIA,

---JC

GranteedEV

GranteedEV

Audioholic Ninja
I use ATH-M50s and I think they're great at isolating, and the sound is very distinct and detailed.

I also suspect their voicing mimics many club-speaker setups, so they should translate well.

MinusTheBear

MinusTheBear

Audioholic Ninja
Here is a read on a guy that was on a quest for his favorite live monitoring headphone. To sum it up he liked the Denons, Ultrasone and as a budget option the Shure 840. He also recommended the AKG 271 MKII for use in studio for lower volume monitoring. The AT M50 would be another good option to look at as well (he didn't test those but they are good cans).

http://www.ratsound.com/cblog/archives/361-The-Mighty-Headphone-Quest-Part-3.html

http://www.ratsound.com/cblog/archives/363-The-Mighty-Headphone-Quest-Part-4.html

http://www.ratsound.com/cblog/archives/364-The-Mighty-Headphone-Quest-Part-5.html

http://www.ratsound.com/cblog/archives/365-The-Mighty-Headphone-Quest-Part-6.html