Headphone recomendations

M

motas

Audiophyte
Hi. I'm looking for some advice on headphones. I am off to uni next year and am forced to take the train every day (I hate trains) so would like a good set of active noise cancelling headphones. I will be listening off my Nokia Lumina 920 for the near future and listen to metal with a small amount of hip hop as well. I would prefer Bluetooth or other wireless but if the sound quality is poor I am happy with a chord as well. I don't have a specific budget I am willing to spend what I need to on a quality product that will last.
Thanks very much for any help.

M

motas

Audiophyte
Thanks for the replies. Sorry I thought being new id post into the beginners section. I was looking at spending more than that, around $400 or so but being a beginner I don't really know what that gets me. I was looking at the denon globe traveller ones but not sure if I like having it sit on ears instead of around. That's the only brand ideally know of though.

tmurnin

tmurnin

Full Audioholic
I find on-ears tiring after an hour or so of listening. I have a set of Denon over-the-ear noise canceling that I use for airplane travel and like. B&W just came out with an over-the-ear model (P7). I haven't listened to them yet but their on-ear phones sound pretty good (neither of those are Bluetooth). I find that headphone recommendations are very personal. You will find some people who absolutely hate any headphones designed by speaker companies while others are more open minded. I love the open-back Grado 'phones for general listening, but those wouldn't be suitable for a crowded train. For the budget you're talking, you should pretty much have any option you want open to you. Find a good local store and go listen. Guitar Center has a wide selection of cans, although I'm not sure about Bluetooth.

M

motas

Audiophyte