Headphone / PC Audio Suggestions?

theyellowlemon

theyellowlemon

Audiophyte
First of all, Hello!

I spend a lot of time, probably too much :rolleyes:, on my computer and have decided it's time to upgrade to some "real" audio. I plan on upgrading my headphones, sound card, and microphone. My current hardware is as follows:

Headset: Plantronics GameCom 367 (headphones & mic) (paid $40)
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE (paid $35)

I'm looking for the best price vs performance headphones I can buy. I'm fairly new to the audiophile world, so I'm asking for some help in choosing my first "real" pair of headphones. They will have a variety of uses including games, voip (ventrilo + skype), music, and movies.

After a few hours of searching I stumbled upon Audio-Technica's ATH-A700. It is about $113 on Amazon.com and Buy.com, both offer free shipping. I haven't been able to find anything else to compete with it at that price. Like I said earlier, I'm new to the audiophile world so I've mostly been comparing the frequency response levels. If there is a more important factor, I would appreciate it if someone could share their knowledge.

My current headphones are also, sadly, the best sounding headphones I've used. With a 20 - 20,000 Hz frequency response... I would imagine that the ATH-A700's 5 - 35,000 Hz would be a huge difference.

Now for the microphone. My current mic is integrated with my headphones. It has a frequency response of 100 - 8,000 Hz. The one I'm looking at is also from Audio-Technica, the ATR4700. It's frequency response is 50 - 13,000 Hz. At $13 I can't find many other options that compete with this either.

Finally, the sound card. I've had my eyes on AuzenTech's X-Fi Forte 7.1 for quite some time. It is about $140. I can't say too much about this. It has much higher maximum sample rates and better SNR compared to my current sound card. It also supports EAX 5.0 vs my sound cards EAX 3.0.