U

upgradeitis

Junior Audioholic
Ok, I'm new to this hobby and don't understand what HDMI switching is. I am in the process of purchasing a HDTV with 2 HDMI connections and a DVD player with an HDMI connection. Also, have a high def. satellite receiver. Of course I also will be purchasing a home theater system. So do I need an A/V receiver with HDMI switching? Please help me to understand what this does. If I get a receiver without HDMI, what are the disadvantages? Sorry for my ignorance but any knowledge about this would be appreciated.

M

MDS

Audioholic Spartan
A receiver with HDMI switching would allow you to connect all of your HDMI components to the receiver and then use one HDMI cable to the TV. The 'switching' is the fact that the receiver sends only the signal it is receiving from whatever component is connected and since there is only cable to the TV, you never need to change the input on the TV. In other words, if you connect the dvd player to the receiver via HDMI and also the sat receiver via HDMI, when you press the DVD input, the receiver will be sending only the signal it is receiving from the dvd player. You can then switch to the sat receiver simply by pressing the Sat input on the receiver. Audio follows Video, so the audio will switch too. [The catch is that many receivers won't send the audio over the hdmi cable anyway and you will still need a separate digital audio cable to the receiver - but it will automatically switch the audio so that you hear the audio that matches the video].