Getting an Amp for My Apartment

D

delarocha420

Audiophyte
Hello! I'm a broke college student looking to buy an amp to power my two monitor speakers. I'm looking for something that will be loud enough so I can have friends over to party and for future use. I built these speakers in high school so they aren't name brand. I don't know the specs of em but they are about 1 ft high, and are currently hooked up to my parents' Kenwood KM-106 power amp. I can hear em through the whole house when the volume is just a quarter up.

I kinda lost trying to find a decent power amp for around $100. I want something that I can plug my ipod/laptop into using a Y cable. Here are some options I was considering. Sorry I can't post links, my post count is under 5

Polk Audio PSW Series PSW10 Black 10-inch Powered Subwoofer
I'm not entirely sure if this setup would work without a power amp. I assume so because it is a powered subwoofer, but I may be wrong. This got pretty good reviews and if I can get a decent sub without a power amp, I'd be happy.

LP-2020A+ Lepai Tripath Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Mini Amplifier with Power SupplyThis got really good reviews, but I'm worried that it wont be loud enough.

Pyle PT3300 3000 Watt Power Amplifier or Pyle Home PTAU45 Mini 2x120 Watt Stereo Power Amplifier with USB/CD/AUX Inputs
Also considering these Pyle amps, though I haven't heard many good reviews of Pyle

Any input or recommendation is greatly appreciated!

brianedm

brianedm

Audioholic General
Hello! I'm a broke college student looking to buy an amp to power my two monitor speakers. I'm looking for something that will be loud enough so I can have friends over to party and for future use. I built these speakers in high school so they aren't name brand but here are the specs: