Gaming computer

Discussion in 'Gaming Central' started by Bryceo, Jul 2, 2014.

  1. Matt34 Moderator

    Matt34
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,415
    Likes Received:
    2,826
    Location:
    Colorado
    My current gaming rig:

    Cosair R200 case
    Gigabyte LGA 1150 Intel Z87 Motherboard
    Cosair H80i CPU cooler
    INTEL CORE I5-4570 PROCESSOR
    NVIDIA - GeForce GTX 760 2GB
    Cosair Vengence 16GB ram
    Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD
    WD 2TB storage drive
    Dual, Asus 27" MX279H monitors- Best Upgrade this build
    Logitech G600 Mouse
    Razor Blackwidow mechanical keyboard
  2. Rowdy S13 Audioholic Chief

    Rowdy S13
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    111
    Location:
    Elgin, IL
    Nice set up! Not too different from mine actually. I just got an Asus 24" VG248QE monitor and I really like it! It needed some work to get the color good, but for gaming it is great! I have an Asus VX238H monitor as well which has been good. I cant decide if I want another VG248QE, or an IPS monitor (Dell U2412M) which is much better suited to editing. I am also in desperate need of a keyboard and mouse upgrade for my main computer. I am not sure if I want a mechanical keyboard or not though.


    Sean
  3. Grassy Audioholic

    Grassy
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    47
    I built this not too long ago. I also built one for the wife not to this extreme though. I would not have it any other way but building my own.You can save some money. View attachment 15030

    Attached Files:

  4. BoredSysAdmin Audioholic Overlord

    BoredSysAdmin
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,776
    Likes Received:
    3,498
    Location:
    New Joisey
    Great looking wiring. 32gb ram?
  5. Grassy Audioholic

    Grassy
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    47
    Its 64gig, but i recently got rid of the vengence ram as it was not fitting in well with the x79 motherboard so i picked up 16gig of dominator and that is ample enough and sits better with that board.I was having issues with that ram so i put it aside as i can still use it as i just dont think the vengence goes well with the x79 board. From personall experience and of others i know off i would not recommend the vengence ram with that board. That i am sure off.:)
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2015
  6. Grassy Audioholic

    Grassy
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    47
    Here's a few more pics from other builds i have done. This is not all of them as i have more pics on photobucket.

    Attached Files:

  7. BoredSysAdmin Audioholic Overlord

    BoredSysAdmin
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,776
    Likes Received:
    3,498
    Location:
    New Joisey
    64gb Ram - Last I heard there are whole bunch of desktop apps which could use all of it
    /s
    I have 32gb ram in my custom nas freenas box - 24gb is used by read/write cache. it does help with large files transfers - fully saturating my gig link. On desktop i rarely hit 8gb limit
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Cos Audioholic General

    Cos
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    352
    On a desktop, if its pure gaming, you will get 0 performance increase for going with more than 8GB, at least at present time. I would focus on faster memory at 8GB than more memory. I have yet to read one report that adding 16GB will have an increase in gaming, sometimes slower, sometimes possibly a FPS or 2. Money would be better spent on high end video cards or SSDs

    That being said I just finished building an X99 System and have 16GB 4x4 DDR4 :)
    Cos,
  9. BoredSysAdmin Audioholic Overlord

    BoredSysAdmin
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    10,776
    Likes Received:
    3,498
    Location:
    New Joisey
    Games start to actually use the extra ram. I see few modern titles (like BF1) which list 16gb as recommended memory. That said anything over that is 100% guaranteed waste for next few years at the least.
  10. MR.MAGOO Full Audioholic

    MR.MAGOO
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    66
    I would love to find those 'classic' video-parlor type games to play on my iMac! Centipede, Donkey-Kong, etc. Remember those machines, put quarters in? :p

    iMac (mid-2011 model) 27-inch (2560x1440)
    Processor - 2.7 Ghz Intel Core i5
    Memory: 32gb 1333Mhz DDR3
    1tb SATA HD
    SuperDrive: reads, burns CD's and DVD's
    3tb external SATA HD (LaCie)
    Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512mb
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. slipperybidness Audioholic Ninja

    slipperybidness
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,837
    Likes Received:
    1,060
    http://lifehacker.com/how-to-turn-your-raspberry-pi-into-a-retro-game-console-498561192

    Why go halfway when you can go all-in? I built my own bar-top arcade from RPi.

    To "insert quarters", I push a button on the front!
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2017 at 8:01 AM

Share This Page

  • RBHsound.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA