Finally completing my HT project!

C

Cory Raymer

Enthusiast
Well, it has been decently long project. I had this house built a bit more than a year ago, it was hard finding an existing home to suit my needs, so we had one built. The downstairs is 2100sq ft with 3 bedrooms, upstairs is 750 sq ft. and I had them only put in a restroom and leave the rest wide open.

For the past year or so, it was only my office and a craft area for my wife, but about a month and a half ago, I got to work. Keep in mind, while I have built a few sheds and a large workshop (took forever), I am not a carpenter by trade, so it was not terribly fast. I did all of my own framing, electric (added 2 dedicated circuits for the HT room, one for the media rack and the other for the projector, LED wall sconces and rope light), hung the drywall, tape and float, texture, trim and paint, media closet shelves and riser platform for 2nd row seating.

The hardest part of all of this is that the room is upstairs and must had made Eleventy Billion trips up and down those stairs, for every damn cut or adjustment needed. I did not want to bring my sliding compound miter saw in the house, would have been a mess!

Before I started, since I have a busy regular job and like to spend my off time with my wife riding the Harley, we got a couple quotes to do this as a turnkey job from a contractor. The best price I was offered, from start to painted for the construction was $6500. At that point, I said, "Hell no!" and did it myself. My total investment, not counting gear was $1,150.00 and took me 4 solid weekends and a bunch of evenings after work from about 5pm to 10ish....

With all that said here is the beginning....

Attachments

C

Cory Raymer

Enthusiast